Search: 

Machine translation:
MBBSoftware
Creating software for businesses, professionals, and the home
our sites: MBBSoftware - Custom Image Presenter - Authenticate Testimonial
Act On File 2012 - The eraser Module - The true delete Functionality Hi guest
Sign up
Login
Act On File Home Discover Modules Download Activation Awards Community Service  
Attributor Authenticator Comparator Compressor Cryptor Eraser Locator Protector Quantifier Act On File TV  
True Delete Fast Delete Erase Scraps Erase Drive  

True Delete - Irrecoverably Destroy Files and Folders to Make Them Unrecoverable and Unrecognizable.

Act On File Windows Compatibility Seals

This section discusses the True Delete functionality of the Eraser module.
The True Delete functionality irrecoverably destroys data and changes the properties of true deleted files and folders so that they become unrecoverable and unrecognizable. As described in the introduction to the Eraser module, when files and folders are deleted they are simply moved to a dedicated folder called the Recycle Bin. The Recycle Bin is pretty much a normal folder, except in that it is used by the system to store "deleted" files and folders. This allows deleted files to be restored easily before the Recycle Bin is emptied by simply moving the files out of that dedicated Recycle Bin folder. However, after emptying the Recycle Bin, it appears as if the files and folders are indeed deleted since they are no longer visible and their sizes are no longer accounted for. In reality, when the Recycle Bin is emptied, the deleted files and folders are only renamed using a forbidden character and thus they are marked as deleted and no longer considered as valid files and folders. However, their entire contents are still on the drive and over time, as new data is stored on the drive, parts from the "deleted" files are gradually overwritten. Thus, until completely overwritten, deleted files could be partially or fully restored using suitable software. As mentioned in the introduction, it is possible that even when overwritten, information may be still recoverable unless it is Truly Deleted. For drives which do not support Recycle Bin folder, the normal delete operation works in the same manner but without temporary storing the files in a dedicated Recycle Bin folder.

True Delete is important to use and truly destroy any deleted information whenever handling sensitive data. Even when sensitive information has been stored encrypted, it is good practice to delete it using the True Delete functionality so that files cannot be recovered and stopping the possibility of any future decryption attacks.
Capture: True Delete
True Delete

Operation

To true delete files and folders, select them in the selected items control of the True Delete functionality. Set your preference for the number of overwrite passes on the selected files and folders, and the files and folders that they contain, and click OK to start the true delete process.

Controls

  
Selection Controls
True Delete Selection Controls
These controls are used to select and display the files and folders for the operation. In addition to the Add Files, Add Folders and Remove buttons, you can use the standard clipboard, drag and drop, and keyboard operations.
ShortcutsSelect the behavior of the functionality in respect to any shortcuts that might be present in the selected folders.
Erase shortcut & targetAny shortcut located in selected folder will be first dereferenced and then it and its target file or folder will be truly deleted.
Erase shortcut onlyAny shortcut located in selected folder will be truly deleted.
Operation Controls
True Delete Operation Controls
These controls determine the operation and behavior of the functionality.
OverwritesEnter the number of times to overwrite the data of any file being deleted with continually generated random data. In the process of true deletion, files are enlarged with a small random size and all file attributes including file-times, filename and extension are also changed randomly. Thus, true deleted files and folders are both unrecoverable and unrecognizable. The number of overwrite passes is from 1 to 255.
Window Controls
True Delete Window Controls
These controls have generic meanings.
On TopSets and clears the Always On Top flag on the window. This checkbox adds or removes the window from the group of Top-most windows.
OKCommits to work and truly deletes the selected files and folders.
CancelCloses the window without doing any work. The last selected properties are stored.
Community Content
(To enter your comments you must be signed in. Log in or create FREE account.)
MemberComments
Be the first to comment.
Products
Act On File
Audio Control
Custom Image Presenter
Photo Window
Vat # Validator
Custom Image Presenter
Homepage
for Galleries and Museums
for Hotels, Resorts and Cruises
for Parks of any kind
for Any Business
Learning
Encryption and Authentication
Safe Online Communication
Authenticable Website Testimonials
Learn how to store private keys
Make The Most From Your Files
Convenient Volume Control
Photo Window - an Awesome Gift
Support
My Account
FAQ - Forum
 
Community
Blog
Email this page
Newsletter
MBBSoftware
About
Contact
Buy Now
Download
Public Authentication Key
Public Encryption Key

Sitemap
Disclaimer
Privacy
Antispam
© Copyright 2017 MBBSoftware. All Rights Reserved.

Email this page
To:
use semicolon to separate emails eg: joe@abc.com; lea@abc.com
Subject:
Message:
a link to this page will be automatically added to your message
From:
Please type the anti-bot text below.
Type text:
Thank you for subscribing to the MBBSoftware newsletter.
Enter your email address:
Please type the anti-bot text below.
Type text: